top of page

Baby steps into transition.


Hello the world out there!

I am in this transitioning phase of finding the right job, but keep being happy. I read something this morning and I thought it would be a perfect text to share with you guys.

After graduating, we all start thinking about a career job. Which job would bring us financial security, which job would open up promotions etc. However, I keep thinking about a job that enhances self growth and development, a job where I will be happy and don't restrained. There has been a lot going on in my head these days, and I might not be on the right track, but if I don't move...I would stay stagnant and never experience new sparkles of life.

This morning, this inspired me. And I hope it brings you the same inspiration, motivation or maybe enlighten you a little.

{...} No one finds ultimate solutions. But the questions are questions we all meet in our lives; they are questions we must all answer in some way. Not with the finality, for life is too fluid, too alive for that. So I have been forced to stop and think through some of the questions, to try to find my own answers, to discover what I have learned by living.

When one attempts to set down in bald words any answers one has found to life problems, there is a great risk of appearing to think that one's answer is either the only one or the best one. This, of course, would be nonsense. I have no such all-inclusive wisdom to offer, only a few guideposts that have proved helpful to me in the course of a long life. Perhaps they may steer someone away from the pitfalls into which I stumbled or help them to avoid the mistakes I have made. Or perhaps one can learn only by one's own mistakes. The essential thing is to learn.

Learn and living. But they are really the same thing, aren't they? There is no experience from which you can't learn something. When you stop learning you stop living in any vital and meaningful sense. And the purpose of life, after all, is to live it, to taste the experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience.

You can do that only if you have curiosity, an unquenchable spirit of adventure. The experience can have meaning only if you understand it. You can understand it only if you have arrived at some knowledge of yourself, a knowledge based on a deliberately and usually painfully acquired self-discipline, which teaches you to cast out fear and frees you for the fullest experience of the adventure of life.

My own life has been crowded with activity and, best of all, with people. I have seen them wrest victory from defeat; I have seen them conquer fear and come out strong and free; I have seen them turn empty lives into full and productive ones.

I honor the human race. When it faces life head-on, it can almost remake itself.

One's philosophy is not best expressed in words; it is expressed in the choices one makes. In stopping to think through the meaning of what I have learned, there is much I believe intensely, much I am unsure of. But this, at least, I believe with all my heart: In the long run, we shape our lives and we shape ourselves. The process never ends until we die. And the choices we make are ultimately our own responsibility.

~ Hyde Park January, 1960

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.

@

MARQUEE NOIR

bottom of page