top of page

Dolce Far Niente

My fellow readers who are also fan of Eat Pray Love, a movie based on Elizabeth Gilbert's book (also the author who wrote the amazing Big Magic book I am always talking about) will probably think this expression is familiar.

It is.

Dolce far niente: The sweetness of doing nothing.

I am the most hyper active person you could ever meet. I am always on the move, and even if I'm waiting around for a friend or for a movie to start, I always have to do something. Either I'm tracing and retracing my steps back and forth or I am writing for my blog to keep progressing. If I try to stay idle, my mind itself is doing all these things. My mind is constantly plotting ideas and hoping it will eventually remember them when time comes by.

However, this week, although I planned to do the maximum possible, the times when I most enjoyed myself was when I was doing nothing. I went to Toronto Island and I spent hours skating around and exploring, but once I lied down on the sand, bathing in the sun, I finally felt like my fuel meter was slowly rising. And let me say, when you're in good company, it helps a lot as well. I would always enjoy doing all these things by myself, but like everything in life, when something is shared, it is more enjoyable.

That sweetness of doing nothing is a luxury in today's life. A luxury we cannot always afford.

Most of us work 5 days a week. And once we get our days off, what do we do? Chores. Duties. Sleep less than we should. Relax less than we deserve.

Even during this week break I took, I was constantly being burdened by the responsibilities that are bestowed upon you once you become an adult. Bestowed because it is a great achievement to finally reach adulthood, but burdened because oh man, don't we all wish we could just stay children forever. One example that everyone would immediately understand: taxes. Oh boy, I enjoyed all of my free days, but at the end of those days, the idea of taxes haunted me.

But during your break, that moment you chose to replenish yourself, you have to learn to push aside your daily worries and stresses.

It is hard because you probably do not want to miss any deadline, or you think you'd feel more free once you clear everything up and then relax. But life works in a way that you'll never clear every little issue. There will always be something to work on. It's a vicious cycle and you would find yourself post-poning your relaxation time.

On the other hand, you do not want to live in denial either. I got to admit, that's my biggest flaw. I hide my adult responsibilities like a kid hiding from the monsters underneath her bed.

I am no one to help you guys out about this issue. But let me tell you that good energy, positivity helps plenty.

I stress very easily and I am also the kind of person who wants to help others before trying to help herself.

And your surrounding sometimes might not be the best for you at all times.

Many are they who put even more stress on you. And you don't realize it until you are handling too much on your plate for you to deal with your friends' issues as well.

So take that break. And take it first and foremost for yourself.

During that break, if you need to distance yourself with people who's energy is not the best for you, then do it.

If you need to be closer to nature, then go! Run away from that city life and connect with nature.

If you need to be closer to the ones you love, then let them know that and cherish them even more than you usually do.

Trust your guts and take in the signs that your body and soul are sending you.

You will be fine.

From your girl out there, almost fully replenished and ready to go for another ride,

xoxo


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.

@

MARQUEE NOIR

bottom of page