top of page

Prisoner of Life

As I am starting a new phase in my life, I would like to share a poem about not letting ourselves contained, restrained or limited.

My biggest fear in every step I take, in every progress I make is that I fail to be happy or make people around me happy.

But because of that fear, because of that anxiety, I become a burden to myself and even sometimes to others.

I am still working on it and until then, I shall leave you with that poem here today.

Do not succumb to your fears,

As they alone would fail to exist.

Yield and let fall the tears,

And they shall live without any chance of exit.

Held down by manacles,

From which you have no viable means to extricate.

Barred by unexpected obstacles,

Gradually extracting a strength that was once innate.

Nights constantly come in a sleepless flow,

And monsters never cease to invade your dreams.

Knights in shining armour are too slow,

Compared to how fast they shed a bloodstream.

They say you stop having monsters under your bed,

Once you have transcended childhood.

However no warning was there of the bloodshed,

Of monsters taking over your adulthood.

The key to win this fight,

Is to never cease to exist.

Optimism and courage will guide you to light,

And from your monsters, there shall be the exit.

 

Don't become a prisoner of life,

Your girl out there,

xoxo


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.

@

MARQUEE NOIR

bottom of page